Junior Year: Beginnings.

I’m into my 5th week of Junior Year, and it has been a whirlwind of weeks so far. Every week has been passing by really quickly, and I am found to have a lack of sleep, lots of social activities and endless piles of work. While every day is meaningful, I am also tired after each moment. Everything has been going at full speed ever since I came back, and while I am reoriented into the pace of things, it’s half enjoyable, other times rushed, and sometimes exhausting.

This semester I’m a Prayer Group leader in CF. It’s my first time stepping up to a role like this, but I am clear that I will try to give more of my time and energy to this group that I have been placed with. I’ve been inspired by seniors before me to be generous with their love and time, and I do hope to love these girls under my wing as my sisters in Christ. I’ve yet to meet the girls formally, but I hope that I can reach out to them over the course of the year. Moreover, a close friend of mine has also been exploring CF recently, and I am surprised and thankful that she joined our group on Monday.

Besides CF, usual church commitments and piano lessons, I’ve been exploring things outside of CF. This semester I decided to enrol myself in a kickboxing aerobics class conducted in school, as well as helping a friend in event planning for the Student’s Political Association. My classes are also longer in duration this semester, so I find myself more stretched for time, and also more occupied with trying to find moments to spare with people. I’ve been trying to reconnect with some old friends, and say goodbye to those that are leaving, and yet also trying to keep with the momentum of my workload and course readings. Projects are going to be in full swing for the second half of the semester, so I do hope that I will be able to finish my mid term exams well and begin on them properly. While there are some classes I do regret taking, there are others I do enjoy greatly, or have much practical use. As such, I take the classes as they come, and hope to learn as much as I can from them. (I am looking forward to my study break week!)

While I am stretched for time, I do find myself drained occasionally, and sometimes also ‘people-d’ out. All in all, I just want to reminder God during those down periods, where I am just feeling so overwhelmed and tired over everything. I don’t want to rely on my own strength and burn out half the time, because there is so much I want to do and see, and I don’t want to forget that He is my light and source of hope. That He is going to bring me through this semester, and the many ups and downs and winding roads of each period in my life. My days are longer and fuller, and I am intentional about making this semester a balanced one. With enough focus on God, my studies, people and the world around me. To not get caught up with my own agenda and the rat race of Singapore life.

Leave a Reply

