Carpenter And Cook: Vintage Cafe with a Twist.

Ever wanted to look out for a cafe that is comfy, and yet vintage?

My answer would be… Carpenter & Cook!

It is one of those go-to places on some Foodies’ Blog lists, so I made this request to my mom. She then brought me here. They mostly have a lot of pastries, and sandwiches to go with coffee. Their coffee art is also pretty good, but not spectacular!! It is located in a really quiet corner of Bukit Timah, along Lorong Kilat road. If I had to bring my friends here, I won’t know how to. Usually, the nice cafes are out of the beaten track. They are quaint, lovely but hard to find. 🙂

Delicious food for a hungry stomach!!!
Delicious food for a hungry stomach!!!

My mom and her friends ordered a huge spread of food. I shared the Quiche with mum, and it tasted really buttery and warm. I liked the small onions wedged into the pastry, and the gooey soft insides. The outside of the Quiche was crispy and puffed-up, and moreover, it was golden brown. The other sandwiches are good, but not the highlight of this place I guess. It looks very green and earthy from here.

My little croissant in the centre. Hehe.
My little croissant in the centre. Hehe.

I ordered an Almond Croissant to try as well. The croissants here are worth trying. They are crunchy, crispy and buttery. The one I tried had this coating of almonds on it, so it tasted like good bread, with a sweet side. Yum yum!

The coffee here is average, but their Salted Caramel Tart is really awesome!! It is not sweet, but has this taste of dark chocolate, and a salty aftertaste. Taking this after a sweet dessert or drink is ideal, since it cancels off the sweet aftertaste in the mouth. The caramel is not overpowering as well.

Coffee Art!! It's pretty.
Coffee Art!! It’s pretty.
Notice the Salted Caramel Tart making its appearance. The tart above it is a Lemon Cream one.
Notice the Salted Caramel Tart making its appearance. The tart above it is a Lemon Cream one.

Overall, I really like the ambience of the whole shop. It was like a cafe with a vintage twist.. They sell some olden day wares, such as lamps and even an old radio. These are antiques that give the cafe a really cool flair. Moreover, the atmosphere is relaxing, good for studying even. Or reading a book. The lights are not overly bright, or cold/glaring. It’s warm and fuzzy, like the home of a suburban American home. The service crew at the counter are also young and pretty close to my age. I guess I can see why they like to work there. It’s comfy… I won’t mind working behind that counter if it has such good vibes!!! I’d come here again someday… 😛

Doesn't this look cosy or what?!
Doesn’t this look cosy or what?!

IMG_9085 IMG_9083

Looking at the lovely glowing orbs of light, it gives the cafe this friendly yet stylish look. I like the momentos on the wall, and the clocks that they pin onto the sides. It looks like a Book Cafe!! Warm coffee, earthy atmosphere, with a touch of soft indie music in the background. What a place for a lazy afternoon.

IMG_9088 IMG_9089

So having said these, ayone keen on coming here again with me? 😉

 

Leave a Reply

