Banana Pancakes.

For Mothers’ Day, I decided to make banana pancakes. My mom loves to cook, so I decided to cook something for her instead of baking. I always bake her things for special occasions, so it is something new this time around.

Mum is always my pillar of support, so these are the few things I can do to show her I really care about her. She is one selfless amazing woman. ❤

My mom likes sweet food. She often likes stuff like cinnamon toast for breakfast, which is totally unlike my dad, who prefers savoury Asian food like Noodles. She eats stuff like scones, muffins, cakes, so now… Pancakes!!

IMG_9022
Happy Mothers’ Day!!

I have never  cooked banana pancakes before, so having been able to do it, is really good!!! I adapted it from the ‘Hungry Student’s Cookbook‘, except that the recipe had done it in terms of grams etc, and thus I tweaked those parts for my own.

Ingredients 

  • 2 bananas (preferably ripe)
  • 1 Cup of Flour
  • 2/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 3/4 Stick of Butter

Steps

  1. Mash the 2 bananas with the vanilla extract with the fork.
  2. Melt 1/2 a stick of butter on a frying pan.
  3. In another mixing bowl, add in the flour and sugar. Stir gently till everything is uniform.
  4. Beat the egg, and then add the milk and melted butter into the dry mixture.
  5. Then, add in the mashed bananas and fold it into the whole mix.
  6. Take 1/4 stick of butter, and then melt it into the pan.
  7. Drop 4 small dollops of batter onto the pan, and cook them for 3 minutes at one side. Keep them on medium heat.
  8. After that, use the spatula and flip the batter over. Be careful not to break them, the batter is soft. Make sure that the batter is cooked well on one side before turning it. Cook in batches of 4, adding 1/4 butter at each round.
  9. Serve on the plate with sides of fresh banana and maple syrup.

IMG_9018 IMG_9013

Serves: 4 people 

I had a lot of fun with this dish!!! 😛 The batter was slightly soft, and it kept breaking the first time I tried flipping them around. Another thing was that I heated the pan too much, so the butter burned at some sides. Don’t overcook each side though, as the edges can become black if you cook at one side too long. So be patient and wait for the batter to harden, and then flip it!!!! I found it really cool to see the soft mushy lumps of butter become nice brown pancakes. Another sidetrack was that I had to use coffee milk instead of normal milk, since I totally forgot to buy a carton of fresh milk for the occasion. However, the pancakes look fine. They tasted good too. 🙂

Have a blast on Mothers’ Day everybody!!

Pancakes!!
Pancakes!!
Leave a Reply

