Zest It Up!

When life gives you lemons, make… Lemon Cake! (lemonade is too cliche)

So I spent the whole afternoon making a good cake! In total, I took around 3 hours to bake, wash up and wait for the cake to cool to add the icing. It was worth the time, and it was fun!!! I set my playlist on my phone, so while I mixed and measured, the songs were blasting at the side. Of course, I have to put it far away lest I get the mess on the phone.

For you lemon cake lovers out there, I took the recipe from the website BBC Good Food. Click here for the recipe.

I modified the thing a bit, and changed the grams to cups. Plus, I added less sugar and everything.

So here is the tweaked version of mine.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Stick of Butter, softened
  • 2/3 Cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup self-raising flour
  • 2 lemons (Juice and Zest)

For the icing

  1. 1/2 lemon (Juice Only)
  2. 3/4 Cup icing sugar
  3. 1/2 Cup unsalted butter, softened
  4. 1/4 Cup Vegetable Oil

It was a fun cake to make, since you could shave the lemon using a peeler to get the zest. The smell of lemon would be all over your fingers, even after you finish baking everything. It took a while for me to finish peeling it, and after I finished, I then cut the lemons into halves and squeezed the juice out. Ah, love the smell of lemons. The only downside was the acidic juice, which could make your fingers sting or itch a bit. What’s more, I had a cut on my finger, so the acidic juice made it hurt.

NOTE: Please take out the lemon seeds! I don’t think anyone fancies having lemon seeds in their cake. Hehe. 

For me, the hard part was the icing. Since the mixture looked extremely runny in the beginning. I kept adding margarine and vegetable oil to thicken it, since icing supposed to look thick. Moreover, it looked oily. Since it was made of fats… It was runny, but after putting it in the fridge about half an hour, it hardened up quite a bit. It looked firm, not like a runny mess when I lifted it with the spoon. So don’t worry if the icing looks runny at first. Put it in the fridge to harden and it should be fine.

Here it was when I just opened up the oven! 😛

Image

Also, you have to wait about 30-40 minutes for the cake to cool completely for you to take out the cake. Here it was before the icing! 🙂

Image

You must be wondering how I took the cake out of the metal pan.. Well, after the metal is cool, you are free to turn it upside down and let the cake fall neatly onto the parchment paper. Cut the corners of the cake with a small kitchen knife, then turn over the whole thing, parchment paper below. Simple! 🙂 Just be really careful not to break it. Mine had a chipped off side (Notice the brighter yellow portion amongst the brownish sides of the cake. That’s where a chunk fell off)

Spread the icing with the knife! I find it so hard to make it look nice, since the icing was still kinda oily and buttery. So the more I spread, the more it kinda kept slipping off or collecting at the sides. That’s what the parchment paper is for after all. You don’t wanna make a huge mess on the kitchen table!

Image

I used a fork to make those patterns. And it made the icing at least have a pattern. If not it would just look like a flat messy piece of slob on the cake. So I made patterns! 😀

So try it out sometime!!! Add some zest into your life. 😉

3 thoughts on “Zest It Up!

  1. I wrote about Meyer’s lemons today and searched to see what others were saying about lemons. I enjoyed your post! yummy. 🙂 3 hours is a lot of time though….I’d rather just be invited over…ha ha

Leave a Reply

