No-Bake Cheesecake 101

I love baking things!!!

After trying simple recipes like cupcakes and everything, I began to realise that baking doesn’t need a lot of effort.

You just need to follow the instructions, and mix accordingly. It’s quite simple once you know how to do it. The only time-consuming part would be washing up the utensils. But overall, it’s easy, therapeutic and fun. Don’t worry if you make some blunders here and there.

I personally had a flop up, when I tried making bread for the first time. It turned out to be a pile of brown goop, totally inedible and unappetising. The problem was that I didn’t use any yeast. What a mistake!! Haha.

Today, I made some cheesecake for my relatives. I’ve always promised them that I’ll bake something for them, as a sign of gratitude for helping me out during the A-level period. This is the least I could do to say a big ‘thank you’ for all their prayers and support.

It’s nice to make desserts on a cold, gloomy afternoon. Since the weather doesn’t encourage outside activities, baking is one of those therapeutic things that I’d like to do. I hope that you’d like this recipe!

Many people have been asking me, ‘How on earth do you make cheesecake without baking it?!’
They are shocked and amazed when I told them that I didn’t need any oven to make it. It’s actually pretty simple. So I’m gonna write a tutorial to show you how. Cheesecake is so easy, you can do it with your eyes closed. Trust me. :p
Easy-proof Cheesecake (plain)
You’ll need:
Ingredients 
1/2 Cup of Sugar
1 Stick of Cream Cheese (I use the Philadelphia one)
1/2 a lemon
4 Digestive Biscuits
1/2 stick of room-temperature butter
(simple isn’t it?)
Also, use
A rolling pin
A Zip-log Bag
A mixing bowl
A small bowl for the biscuits
Step 1: 
Place the 4 Digestive Biscuits into the Zip-log bag. Seal the bag tightly, and then using the rolling pin, crush the biscuits into small tiny pieces. Follow the picture slowly.

Use a little force to crush the biscuits.

It should look like this by the end of it all.
Step 2: 
Leave the biscuits alone first. Transfer the block of cream cheese into the bowl. Add in the 1/2 cup of sugar and stir it into the cream. keep folding the cheese in with the sugar. Don’t worry if the sugar sticks to the cheese.

Step 3: 
After that, take the lemon and squeeze it hard into the mixture. Make sure no seeds fall into the mixture! The lemon makes it a little tangy, which makes the cheesecake nice. A tinge of sour after the sweet. Stir in the juice, sugar and lemon together. Mix until a consistent white coloured mix is obtained. The mix shouldn’t be runny. Taste the mix. If it is too sour, add more sugar.

Step 4:
Pour the crushed biscuits into the small bowl. Add in the room temperature butter. Keep stirring and mixing the butter and biscuits together, till a consistent brown paste is obtained.

 

It should look like that by the end of it all.
Step 5: 
Add the paste to a small round container. Then, transfer the cream cheese into a fridge. Refrigerate for a day. The cake can last 2-3 days. 🙂

It is easy isn’t it?? Hope you’ll have fun making your own! This could be your first take on cakes. No oven needed!
Also, feel free to try making it with Oreo, Strawberries or anything. Cheesecake is so versatile, so it’s easy to mix it with other ingredients.
Placing this batter into jars also works. 🙂 There are versions I’ve seen that use jars to store the cheese-cakes. It’s also of the no-bake variety.

Try out this one too!!! I’ve yet to make those cheesecakes in jars, but perhaps it’s good if you want to give to a lot of people as gifts. These make great birthday gifts, if you have no clue what to buy for them. Cakes are the universal happy foods. 🙂

Leave a Reply

